Alone, Together Exhibition - Gippsland Art Gallery

Community Event


70 Foster St, Sale VIC 3850
Get directions


Monday Jun 21 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Jun 22 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Jun 23 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Jun 24 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Jun 25 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Saturday Jun 26 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Sunday Jun 27 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Monday Jun 28 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Jun 29 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Jun 30 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Jul 1 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Jul 2 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Saturday Jul 3 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Sunday Jul 4 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Monday Jul 5 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Jul 6 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Jul 7 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Jul 8 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Jul 9 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Saturday Jul 10 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Sunday Jul 11 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Monday Jul 12 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Jul 13 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Jul 14 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Jul 15 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Jul 16 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Saturday Jul 17 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Sunday Jul 18 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Monday Jul 19 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Jul 20 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Jul 21 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Jul 22 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Jul 23 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Saturday Jul 24 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Sunday Jul 25 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Monday Jul 26 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Jul 27 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Jul 28 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Jul 29 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Jul 30 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Saturday Jul 31 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Sunday Aug 1 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Monday Aug 2 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Aug 3 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Aug 4 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Aug 5 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Aug 6 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Saturday Aug 7 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Sunday Aug 8 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Monday Aug 9 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Aug 10 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Aug 11 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Aug 12 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Aug 13 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Saturday Aug 14 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Sunday Aug 15 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Monday Aug 16 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Tuesday Aug 17 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Wednesday Aug 18 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Thursday Aug 19 from 12:00am, to 12:00am
Friday Aug 20 from 12:00am, to 12:00am



For many of us, we will think about the before and after of coronavirus. Before, when we could hug our friends, go out for brunch, or travel around the world. And the after, isolation, restrictions and concerns.

Over the course of the last few months, museums and galleries around the world have been working to understand and respond to this crisis. Their responses have ranged from galleries across America sending each other virtual bouquets; museums collecting artifacts like facemasks, poems or videos; or utilising hashtags which encourage people to recreate famous artworks using only the objects from their own homes.

During this time of crisis, many of us are turning to a wide variety of creative outlets – music, art, performance, photography, writing, films. Whether we are creating or consuming culture, the arts are vital during this time of uncertainty. We can use art as a space through which to process the difficult and challenging emotions that arise as a result of our isolation. In contrast, we can also use art to focus on the positive elements around us. Concurrently, many forms of creativity can help to reduce anxiety and stress and help us to relax.

Now that our world is slowly starting to reopen, it is important to be able to reflect on our experiences and to find comfort in what is familiar and that which we can share with others. This is where art can step in and help us understand and describe what we are feeling. Art can bring comfort; it can remind us of memories and experiences beyond our homes.

This special online-only exhibition brings together a selection of portraits from both the Gippsland Art Gallery and the National Gallery of Victoria. The works chosen represent a selection of activities that you might be undertaking during your isolation. From these twenty-four artworks we can see a selection of figures creating their own artworks, men and women bathing, children with toys and books, musicians contemplating their instruments, people spending time with pets, depictions of taking (socially distant) walks and an overwhelming selection of people staring pensively into the distance.

These images provide us with a snapshot into people performing the very same tasks that we have found ourselves repeating over the previous many weeks. They act as a reminder that we have been down this road before, and that we will make it through.


See also…